Thursday, 12 February 2009

African Sub Area........

Sub Areas Within Africa

As mentioned in our earlier post we are now going to discuss about the sub areas which comes under the African Continent. They are as follows.

  1. Angola
  2. Benin
  3. Botswana
  4. Burkina Faso
  5. Burundi
  6. Cameroon
  7. Cape Verde
  8. Central African Republic
  9. Chad
  10. Comoros
  11. Congo (Brazzaville)
  12. Congo (Kinshasa)
  13. Cote D'lvoire
  14. Djibouti
  15. Equatorial Guinea
  16. Eritrea
  17. Ethiopia
  18. Gabon
  19. Gambia
  20. Ghana
  21. Guinea
  22. Guinea-Bissau
  23. Kenya
  24. Lesotho
  25. Liberia
  26. Libya Arab Jamahiriya
  27. Madagascar
  28. Malawi
  29. Mali
  30. Mauritania
  31. Mayotte
  32. Mozambique
  33. Namibia
  34. Niger
  35. Nigeria
  36. Reunion
  37. Rwanda
  38. Sao Tome and Principe
  39. Senegal
  40. Seychelles
  41. Sierra Leone
  42. Somalia
  43. South Africa
  44. Swaziland
  45. Tanzania
  46. Togo
  47. Uganda
  48. Zambia
  49. Zimbabwe.

IATA Area 2

IATA Area 2 or Traffic Conference(TC) area 2 comprises of Europe, Africa and Ascension Island and parts of Asia west of Ural mountains including Iran and countries of Middle East.

TC 2 Within the sub area of Europe:
The countries within the European Sub areas are as follows.
  1. Albania
  2. Algeria
  3. Andorra
  4. Armenia
  5. Austria
  6. Azerbaijan
  7. Belarus
  8. Belgium
  9. Bosnia & Herzegovina
  10. Bulgaria
  11. Croatia
  12. Cyprus
  13. Czech Republic
  14. Denmark
  15. Estonia
  16. Faroe Islands
  17. Finland
  18. France
  19. Georgia
  20. Germany
  21. Gibraltar
  22. Greece
  23. Hungary
  24. Iceland
  25. Ireland
  26. Italy
  27. Latvia
  28. Liechtenstein
  29. Lithuania
  30. Luxembourg
  31. Macedonia
  32. Former Yugoslav Republic
  33. Malta
  34. Monaco
  35. Moldova
  36. Morocco
  37. Netherlands
  38. Norway
  39. Poland
  40. Portugal (Including Azores and Madeira)
  41. Romania
  42. Russia
  43. San Marino
  44. Serbia
  45. Slovakia
  46. Slovenia
  47. Spain
  48. Sweden
  49. Switzerland
  50. Tunisia
  51. Turkey
  52. Ukraine
  53. United Kingdom

Overall approximately around 53 countries are their which fall under the sub areas of Europe. Please find below the sub ares within Middle.

Sub Area Within Middle East

  1. Bahrain
  2. Egypt
  3. Iran
  4. Israel
  5. Iraq
  6. Jordan
  7. Kuwait
  8. Lebanon
  9. Oman
  10. Qatar
  11. Saudi Arabia
  12. Syrian Arab Republic
  13. Sudan
  14. UAE(Comprises of Abu Dhabi, Ajman,Dubai,Fujairah,Ras Al Khaimah,Sharjah,Umm Al Qaiwan ) and
  15. Yemen.

As we have covered the sub areas for Europe and Middle East, our next sub area to be covered is of Africa. Please find the the details in our next post

Wednesday, 11 February 2009

IATA Area 1

IATA Area 1 or TC 1
IATA Area 1 or TC 1 comprises of North America, South America, Central America and the adjacent islands like Greenland, Bermuda, West Indies, Islands of the Caribbean Sea, Hawaiian Islands which includes Midway and Palmyra.

Traffic Conference Sub-Areas.

TC1 - Mexico Sub Area
between Canada,USA and Mexico excluding Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands,US.

TC 1 - Caribbean Sub Areas
1) between: USA and Bermuda, Bahamas, The Caribbean Islands, Guyana,Suriname, French Guyana excluding Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands,US.
2) between Canada, Mexico and Bermuda, Bahamas, The Caribbean Islands including Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands,US, Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana.

Longhaul Sub Areas
1) Between Canada, Mexico, USA and Central America and South America
2) Between Bermuda, Bahamas, The Caribbean Islands, Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana and Central America and South America.
3) Between Central America and South America
4)Within Central America.

Area 1 Within South American Sub Area
The area includes, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela

World Geography

World Geography is an essential part of Travel Industry. Any Travel agents or travel consultant who is handling matters related to preparations of Itineraries, reservations, fare calculations and ticketing should have a thorough knowledge about the world geography and also should be able to identify the cities by the location, country, areas and sub areas defined by IATA.
If a person who is related to travel field is having the knowledge about the world geography then he or she can easily plan out the best suitable itinerary for their clients.
The Eastern Hemisphere and the Western Hemisphere which are the two parts of the world as per the elementary geography is further divided by IATA into 3 traffic conference areas called IATA Areas or TC1, TC2 and TC3 which comprise of further sub areas and that is different from the geographical definitions.
Next post informs about the different areas assigned by IATA.